The Droidette Review's Blog

Blogs about new games and random things!

Vancouver Fan Expo with David Hayter and Mark Meer


The end of the weekend has arrived! I am tired, sore and still have a shit eating grin on my face.

Two days spent walking around the Vancouver Convention Centre ended on a high note. I got to meet David Hayter from the Metal Gear Solid franchise and Mark Meer from Mass Effect. I cosplayed as Eva from MGS3 on the first day, April 20th but decided against it today. My feet couldn’t handle anymore of my army boots and if I’m not completely accurate with the costume I don’t see the point. First day was absolutely crazy when it came to attendance. As much as we said we’d be up early to get in line I didn’t arrive until noonish. Transit was absolutely packed full of people in all kinds of cosplay. Both the good and the bad. We spent about an hour and a half waiting to get inside. Just so we could spend all day standing in more lines haha… I was very happy to be the only one dressed up as Eva. I bet all the people walking around in Adventure Time costumes didn’t feel as original, and there were a lot. My best friend and I got to meet Micheal Rooker and get a picture signed. We ran into him again walking around outside on the second day, very nice man. After we got home we celebrated with pizza and beer followed by passing out shortly after.

Here are some pictures from the first day.

Got the last Metal Gear model in Vancouver!

Got the last Metal Gear model in Vancouver!Lego Hulk, I swear I was just trying to put my gloves on...

Lego Hulk, I swear I was just trying to put my gloves on…

2013-04-21 12.24.28

Tardis!

Tardis!

Day two I ditched the cosplay for more comfortable attire. I’m glad because I spent a good two hours waiting for Hayter. I brought my Calorie Mate and picked up a MGS comic book to be signed. Other people standing inline kept wanting/asking about the Calorie Mate, from my cold dead hands……. was pretty much my reply. Very hard thing to find if you don’t know where to look or speak Japanese. Hayter was impressed I found one at all. Second go around was definitely more enjoyable. We arrived at 11 am and there was no line to get in and a lot more breathing room. Only got into a couple squabbles over people stopping in the middle of high traffic areas but for the most part people were generally not as pushy. I lined up to see Jennifer Hale and Mark Meer who were both at the EP Daily booth but Jennifer ended up leaving at noon so I left the line to wander around. I ran into Mark later while killing some time. He was very friendly and we took some pictures and had a conversation about Tiny Plastic Men and Mass Effect. He gave me a stack to stickers, and who doesn’t like free stuff?! I saw him again later at the booth sitting beside Hayter. I wanted a picture with both of them in it but just as I got up to the front Mark was doing his best pee-dance and I couldn’t guilt him to into staying. I got my picture and stuff signed by Hayter and that’s what really mattered to me. I felt horrible for most of the people waiting to see him. He only had 2 hours to do signing/photos and he was about 20 minutes late to the booth. I came prepared as well as early, but most everyone didn’t and ended up missing out. The line wrapped around the booth about 3-4 times and he only got to about 150 of us. Just as I was next inline for Hayter one of the EP Daily staff said “No more pictures! We need to speed this up”. I had a “Well then they should have been here earlier huh?” moment but when I asked David he said to come stand by him for a picture anyways.  It was a great way to spend my vacation time away from work, with friends and nerding out at the same time. We all got what we came for and left very happy, tired and broke.

Day two pictures.

Some Walking Dead artwork my friend picked up.

Some Walking Dead artwork my friend picked up.

Mark Meer and I hanging out in a quieter area.

Mark Meer and I hanging out in a quieter area.

Our best Derp faces.

Our best Derp faces.

He was nice enough to ask for the correct spelling of my name.... no one ever gets it right.

He was nice enough to ask for the correct spelling of my name…. no one ever gets it right.

He gives some pretty wicked hugs.

He gives some pretty wicked hugs.

My signed copy of MGS comic. "War has changed...."

My signed copy of MGS comic. “War has changed….”

Calorie Mate "Mm... Tasty" .We shared a laugh over it.

Calorie Mate “Mm… Tasty” .We shared a laugh over it.

Tiny Plastic Men stickers Mark gave me.

Tiny Plastic Men stickers Mark gave me.

All in all it was a blast, can’t wait for next year. I will get back on the game reviews when things settle down, I still have friends crashing at my place. It’s back to work first thing in the morning!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

