The Droidette Review's Blog

Blogs about new games and random things!

Tower Defense Gem


Castle TD: Android’s very own version of Kingdom Rush.

by Leigh Peterson

CastleTD

Castle TD by Elite Games the same people who made Lair Defense: Dungeon & Shrine.

What is it?

This is a very well made tower defense/strategy based game that’s full of endless hours of just trying to complete that one map that’s been driving you crazy but its 5 am and I should really be sleeping…. kind of game.

So here’s the deal. It’s like most TD type games – waves upon wave of enemies make their way from one end of the map to the other. Your job is to dispose of them as quickly and efficiently as possible. Players get a choice of 4 tower types. Bunker, Lab, Fort and Cannons. Now where you place these towers is limited to both where on the map allows you and how much coin you have to start with. Each tower can be upgraded down two separate paths which gives the player many different choices and styles of strategic genius. This definitely is a challenging game. It’s all about trial and error, without feeling like you got cheated. If one plan falls through just keep on trying. It can be a frustrating grind to get all your tower and abilities upgraded but isn’t that exactly what we love about TD? That moment when your desperately using every trick you’ve got and somehow manage to survive with one life left.

2013-03-31 16.09.27

2013-03-31 13.43.32

Did I enjoy it?

I am addicted to the tower defense/strategic style games for any platform. Over the past year that I’ve owned my Samsung Galaxy SII LTE I’ve come across some real gems for Android. So far this it’s right up there at the top of my list. The cute cartoony vibe, polished mechanics and replay value is what kept me amused for hours. Also, did I mention it’s completely FREE? I am sure like all “free” games you can bust out the credit card and buy your way but I don’t see the challenge in that.

Do I suggest it?

Indeed I do. All in all it’s a well-balanced quality game. My only beef with the game was when I left a match mid go to check a text or make a call the game would start from the beginning. Other than that I had no technical problems. This is a game that could easily sell on the play store for $2.99. Download it and give it a go! Even if strategy games aren’t your thing what do you have to lose with a free game? You might even get hooked.

Overall I give it a 8.5/10.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

